Geekin'! Podcast and Blog

SPOILERS: Review: Aphrodite IX #5 – Lyesmith

Aphrodite IX

Aphrodite IX # 5 from Top Cow
Writer: Matt Hawkins (@TopCowMatt)
Cover & Art: Stjepan Sejic (@stjepansejic)

I want to start off by saying this is another one of my gushing reviews for Top Cow. I love this character, I love this series, and I know you guys have to get tired of hearing me say it, but I love Top Cow comics.

I’d like to take a second and say that you can read the first issue of Aphrodite IX for FREE. You can get it from the Top Cow website right here.
(http://topcow.com/moos/43-latest-moos/751-aphrodite-ix-1-read-now)

One more thing before we get to the review. Aphrodite IX writer and creator Matt Hawkins (@TopCowMatt) is going to be coming to a local comic book and gaming convention in Tulsa, Ok, which I intend to be at. I /hope/ to be able to grab Matt’s hear for a moment to ask him three or four questions for the blog. If there anything you’d like asked, please drop a comment here, let us know on twitter (#Geekin_Podcast) or on the facebook fanpage (www.facebook.com/geekinpodcast)

This issue picks up moments after issue 4. Aphrodite’s been used to kill some of Marcus'(leader of The Gen) most closest and dearest loved ones after being taken in my The Gen. Distracted by grief and confusion, Marcus didn’t react to the attack from in time, now they’ve lost all their dragons and the enemy is literately at their doorstep.

Free of the control that caused her to murder Marcus’ family and fiance’, Aphrodite, now remember her name as April, leaps into battle against the cybernetically-enhanced soldiers from Speros. Hawkins is able to throw in faith, without letting it turn into fanaticism and push it over into the negative side of religion. It shows further contrast between Genesis and Speros as Marcus’ faith and belief that God is on his side helps him overcome his feelings and rally his people together to bring a much-needed win for The Gen.

While the romantic connection between Marcus and Aphrodite seems to disperse as Burch’s (Aphrodite’s weasely handler who takes control of her mind and forces her to kill) control over her does, you can’t help but be a little sad to find out that the connection between Burch and Aphrodite will heal itself, while her potential, and likely fabricated, feelings for Marcus’ won’t.

A suicide run from Aphrodite, crashing one of the smaller Speros ships into the much larger flagship brings the fight to an uproarious end. Injured and unconscious, Marcus’ brings her back to Genesis to heal her, despite calls for her execution for the murder of Marcus’ family and leading the people of Speros to Genesis anyway. Instead of letting her be executed, Marcus’ sneaks her out of the city and lets her go. Mikhail, the father of Marcus’ fiance’ Lina, instructs what appears to be mercenaries to find Aphrodite, leaving us eager to see this new group in action. The last pages of the book show Aphrodite outside the city, being found by not only Valr’x, one of the remaining dragons, but also what appears to be a group lead by Aphrodite XV. So now we’ve got Aphrodite V in Cyberforce and TWO more Aphrodites (Aphroditi? Aphrodities? What’s the plural of Aphrodite?) in this book. It’s an Aphroditi-palooza over here at Top Cow! How can you not love that???

01_panel_AphroditeAppGame

So I’m going to leave you two things. One, I’m going to BEG you to pick up this series. The art is amazing (Check out his other stuff at http://nebezial.deviantart.com/ – he’s got some really cool fanart he’s done up for free). But then again, everything Sejic does is amazeballs. It’s redonkulous how good this guy is.

Secondly. I’m going to leave you a shit-ton of Aphrodite IX eyecandy for your faceholes.

2013-05-10-aphrodite_xi_02-cover

STK612112

Aphrodite_IX_by_Markovah

http://markovah.deviantart.com/

Aphrodite-IX-femme-fatales-21859664-1024-768

art.kenneth rocafort.aphrodite ix

Kenneth Rocafort

AIX_Finch_Tribute_by_VirtualGirl6654

Aphrodite_IX_Cosplay_Teaser_3_by_VirtualGirl6654

Aphrodite_IX_Cosplay_6_by_VirtualGirl6654

http://meagan-marie.deviantart.com/

This entry was written by geekinpodcast and published on September 18, 2013 at 9:58 pm. It’s filed under Comic Review, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

60 thoughts on “SPOILERS: Review: Aphrodite IX #5 – Lyesmith

  1. Ah, this is more like it. I had not heard of this book before. The art samples are amazing.

    How is it for someone just jumping into this book? What’s the learning curve?

    • Top Cow has recently rebooted both this and Cyberforce, which it’s 6th issue just came out. I’d definitely recommend getting the previous 4 issues, but you /at least/ want to read the first one, which is free, of course. Picking this up alone, you might be a bit lost, but I think if you started here, the up-coming story would still make a lot of sense. They touch on everything that’s happened before here, so, especially getting the first issue, I think you’d be okay moving forward from this issue.

  2. Great review. Seems like something I would be into. I’ll have to check it out.

  3. It’s very effortless to find out any matter on web as compared to books, as I found this article at this web site.

  4. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted
    keywords but I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please
    share. Thanks!

  5. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague
    who had been doing a little homework on this.

    And he in fact bought me breakfast due to the fact
    that I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword
    this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about
    this subject here on your website.

  6. I read this paragraph completely about the resemblance
    of most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it’s awesome article.

  7. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  8. Quality articles is the crucial to invite the visitors to visit the website, that’s what this website is providing.

  9. My partner and I stumbled over here from
    a different web address and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look
    forward to finding out about your web page
    yet again.

  10. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking
    forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  11. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a applicable
    deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered shiny clear concept

  12. I just like the helpful information you provide for your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and check once more here frequently.
    I am fairly sure I’ll be told many new stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  13. Thanks to my father who shared with me concerning this blog, this web site is really amazing.

  14. Hey! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog
    looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m
    trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Thanks!

  15. I every time spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles all the time along with
    a mug of coffee.

  16. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit
    and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the very same niche as yours
    and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

  17. Thanks designed for sharing such a nice idea, paragraph is good, thats why i have read
    it fully

  18. I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading extremely slow
    for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  19. Hi there to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from
    this website, and your views are fastidious in favor of new visitors.

  20. Tremendous issues here. I am very satisfied
    to peer your post. Thanks so much and I am taking a look forward to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  21. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that
    cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love
    to be a part of community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable people that share
    the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

    Appreciate it!

  22. Hello, its fastidious article regarding media print, we all be aware of media is a great source of facts.

  23. It’s going to be end of mine day, except before end I am reading this fantastic paragraph to
    improve my experience.

  24. If you would like to get a great deal from this post then you have to apply
    these techniques to your won webpage.

  25. I always used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user
    of internet so from now I am using net for articles or reviews,
    thanks to web.

  26. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it
    up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any solutions
    to help stop content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  27. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 25
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has
    83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I
    had to share it with someone!

  28. Hi there I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep
    up the excellent b.

  29. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post
    reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  30. Superb website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any
    user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get comments from other experienced people that share the same
    interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Kudos!

  31. My family members all the time say that I
    am wasting my time here at net, but I know I am getting
    know-how daily by reading such nice posts.

  32. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this
    write-up and also the rest of the site is also very good.

  33. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find
    things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  34. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme
    of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of
    times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a excellent job with this. Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Opera.
    Excellent Blog!

  35. My relatives always say that I am killing my time here at web, however I know I am
    getting know-how daily by reading thes nice articles.

  36. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  37. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I believe
    I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load
    off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back
    to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Cheers!

  38. I am truly grateful to the holder of this web site who has shared this impressive article at here.

  39. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  40. Hello mates, how is the whole thing, and what you want to say
    concerning this post, in my view its in fact awesome for me.

  41. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web site.

    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A few of my blog visitors have complained about my site not
    working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  42. I do nnot leave a great deal of comments, however i did some searching
    and wound up here SPOILERS: Review: Aphrodite IX #5 – Lyesmith | Geekin’!
    Podcast and Blog. And I do have a few questions for you if you
    usually do nott mind. Is it just me or ddoes it appear ljke a few of these responses come across as
    if they are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I’d
    like to keep up with everthing fresh you have to post.
    Would you list oof every one of all your public sites like your Facebook page,
    tsitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  43. Howdy I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really
    found you by accident, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    great work.

  44. I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to
    be precisely what I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to
    write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind publishing
    a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

  45. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I were a little bit familiar
    of this your broadcast offered bright transparent concept

  46. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus
    i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use
    a few of your ideas!!

  47. Hi friends, nice paragraph and pleasant arguments commented at
    this place, I am really enjoying by these.

  48. I delight in, result in I found exactly what I used to be having
    a look for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice
    day. Bye

  49. Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next
    write ups thank you once again.

  50. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favolrite reason seemed to be on the
    internet the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say too you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries thhat they just don’t knpw about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon thee top and defined ouut thhe whole thing without having side effect , people could
    take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

  51. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i
    subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided
    bright clear concept

  52. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I truly enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I
    want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing,
    have a nice afternoon!

  53. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board
    and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  54. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be
    ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new updates.

  55. Continuous tried and tested techniques explain as
    that entertainment team method performs the best. military
    service discharge paper DD 214, and a copy of yor W-2 form.
    Hppy Events Management Company is known for its creative
    and innovative event planning in Rajasthan.

  56. If you know that your family issues aren’t in dire need of
    immediate attention, try to set up a time after work or on weekends to fix them as
    soon as you can. When creating the chart, the number
    of the father is always two-times that the number given to the child.
    Good value for the money and a little bit of style are other factors that you should pay attention to
    before you decide to have a new vehicle.

  57. Hi, I would like to subscribe for this web site to take latest updates,
    therefore where can i do it please help.

  58. all the time i used to read smaller articles or reviews which as well clear their motive, and that is also
    happening with this article which I am reading now.

  59. Yes! Finally someone writes about books.

Yur wurds go hear

